The Mom

DiY Heart Garland

IMG_0976I love this! I found the idea on Color Her {Hope}. I liked that she used two pieces of paper back-to-back so you can see a design from every angle. However, that is double the work, so I opted out. Ultimately, I’d find some double-sided paper, but I think my paper looks fine, even with white on one side.

IMG_0970

SUPPLIES:
Scrapbook paper
Scissors or a paper cutter
A ruler
Scotch tape
String
A needle

INSTRUCTIONS:
1) Cut your paper into 1″ strips at 4 different lengths: 4.5″, 6″, 7.5″, 9.5″

paper strips
2) Layer them with the side you want to be facing out toward you. In my case, I faced the colored side toward me and the white side away from me. Start with the 9.5″ piece, then put the 7.5″ strip beneath it, followed by the 6″ and the 4.5″ pieces.

3) Starting with the shortest piece, pull the top end down to meet the bottom piece, and clamp with your fingers. Do the same with the rest of the pieces.

4) Add an extra straight strip (your hanger) to the inside of your 1/2 heart and tape BOTH sides. Note: I used the 6″, 7.5″ and 9.5″ lengths as the hangers.
one side of hearttape

5) Follow steps 2 and 3, then tape both sides.

6) Put both 1/2 hearts together with the hanging strip between and tape both sides.

7) Once you have all of your hearts finished, double up a piece of thread, thread a needle onto it, and poke through the top of every hanger until you have all hearts on your line of thread.

8) Hang where desired. I folded a piece of tape around the end of each string end so I would have a solid place to push a tac through. It worked very well! Without it, the string slipped right out from underneath the tac.
IMG_0978

THE FINISHED PRODUCT! 

IMG_0974

Please join the conversation!